LWSD students perform well at science and engineering fair

LWSD students perform well at science and engineering fair
WSSEF logo

Several Lake Washington School District students came home with an award after the 2019 Washington State Science and Engineering Fair (WSSEF). The annual fair took place March 29-30 in Bremerton, Wash. The WSSEF works to create enthusiasm in science and technology while encouraging project-based inquiry. The WSSEF is also a chance for students to compete for college scholarships, awards and other exciting prizes. More than $1,000,000 in scholarships and prizes were awarded in 2018 to “Promote Future Scientists & Engineers."

Some participants from Nikola Tesla STEM High School had an especially successful weekend at the WSSEF. Four Tesla STEM students were part of a small group considered for the WSSEF Grand Champion Premiere Awards. Because of their high scores, each of the four students has been invited to the Intel International Science & Engineering Fair (ISEF) in Phoenix, Ariz. May 11-17. 

Here is a list of some of the winners from WSSEF and their awards:

WSSEF 2019 Grand Champion Premiere Awards

  • Manasvini Calmidi, Tesla STEM, Grand Medallion Champion (Bronze)
  • Anirudh Iyer, Tesla STEM, WSSEF Finalist
  • Elisabeth Berger, Tesla STEM, Student Observer
  • Aadi Dalia, Tesla STEM, Student Observer

WSSEF Best of Grade Category Awards

  • Samriddhi Kandaswamy, Redmond Elementary, second grade
  • Charlotte Gruian, Inglewood Middle School, sixth grade

WSSEF School of the Year Awards

  • Redmond Elementary School, grades 1-3

WSSEF First Place Trophy

  • Kristin Acheson, Tesla STEM
  • Rachel Alwan, Tesla STEM
  • Aakarsh Balla, Redmond Middle School
  • Arundhati Basu, Tesla STEM
  • Elisabeth Berger, Tesla STEM
  • Sohil Bhatia, Redmond Middle School
  • Manasvini Calmidi, Tesla STEM
  • Aadi Dalia, Tesla STEM
  • Neha Dalia, Eastlake High School
  • Annie Denton, Tesla STEM
  • Desh Dhingra, Tesla STEM
  • Hemant Dhokia, Tesla STEM
  • Suraj Dhulipalla, Eastlake High School
  • Aditi Ekbote, Tesla STEM
  • Mathias Foster, Tesla STEM
  • Nitisha Gautam, Tesla STEM 
  • Anika Ghelani, Tesla STEM 
  • Audrey Gruian, Eastlake High School
  • Charlotte Gruian, Inglewood Middle School
  • Nina Gupta, Tesla STEM
  • Toma Itagaki, Tesla STEM
  • Anirudh Iyer, Tesla STEM
  • Vidhi Jain, Tesla STEM
  • Samriddhi Kandaswamy, Redmond Elementary 
  • Romanpreet Kaur, Tesla STEM
  • Anuj Krovvidi, Inglewood Middle School
  • Madison Messina, Tesla STEM
  • Mychal Miller, Tesla STEM
  • Sunya Mohammed, Tesla STEM
  • Van Monday, Tesla STEM
  • Varshan Muhunuthan, Tesla STEM
  • Isha Murali, Tesla STEM
  • Eden Netz, Tesla STEM
  • Rachel Oommen, Tesla STEM
  • Thiago Sardenberg, Inglewood Middle School
  • Parbeen Sekhon, Tesla STEM
  • Siddharth Shende, Tesla STEM
  • Rhea Shinde, Tesla STEM
  • Varun Sridhar, Tesla STEM
  • Roshni Srikanth, Tesla STEM
  • Tarini Srikanth, Tesla STEM
  • Tristan Stevens, Tesla STEM
  • Marton Teichner, Tesla STEM
  • Brandon Vanhaltren, Louisa May Alcott Elementary
  • Ajeet Venkatesh, Evergreen Middle School
  • Siddharth Vijay, Redmond High School
  • Maxwell Wang, Tesla STEM
  • Callie Wharton, Tesla STEM
  • Sebastian Wick, Tesla STEM
  • Christine Ye, Eastlake High School

Visit the WSSEF website for a list of WSSEF 2019 Special Awards.


More news & stories