Tesla STEM - Bhowal and Porwal

Two rising seniors from Nikola Tesla STEM High School (Tesla STEM) used mapping to tackle an important issue for a local endangered species. Siddhant Porwal and Druhin Bhowal brought awareness to the Southern Resident Orca Whale (SROW) population decline through state and national ArcGIS mapping competitions.

Leading the way – Redmond High student selected as national student leader

A student at Redmond High School will be gaining practical work and life experience through a paid internship. Conan Lu, class of 2022, was selected as a Bank of America Student Leader. He is one of only 300 students across the country selected for this honor and just one of seven from Washington state.

Holocaust art contest

Nearly 600 students in Washington, Idaho, Montana and Alaska put together inspiring work at this year’s Holocaust Center for Humanity (HCH) contest. Out of all those entries, four Nikola Tesla STEM High School students placed in the top three. This year’s “Celebrating Life: 2022 Holocaust Writing, Art, and Film Contest,” put on by HCH, challenges students to explore the history and stories of the Holocaust. 



    Bring your A game – Cambridge students at Juanita High School earn exceptional grades

    Cambridge logo

    Juanita High School (JHS) students in the Cambridge Program excelled in 2020. While top in the world and top in the country awards had to be cancelled, Cambridge decided to recognize their most high achieving students with the distinction, merit and scholar level of awards. According to Cambridge International, less than 1% of the total grades across the country are A*’s, yet JHS students captured 3.6% of them. In total, 60 Cambridge students at JHS were recognized for their grades in 2020. 

    According to Mark Cavone, the North American Regional Director for Cambridge International, “These awards celebrate and recognize the exceptional performance of students who have excelled in the midst of COVID.”

    Students in the Cambridge Program usually take the Cambridge International examinations each year. With the in-person school year coming to a halt last March, Cambridge International was forced to use their alternative grading process approved by colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. The results were calculated based on Cambridge grading practices and evidence of student work. These grades were not related to the A grades given at the end of the second semester of the 2019-20 school year due to COVID-19. 

    The Cambridge Advanced Program is part of an internationally benchmarked program. The program allows students to earn college-level credit in high school. More than 700 U.S. colleges and universities now accept Cambridge exams for credit and placement. These awards celebrate and recognize the success of high-performing Cambridge students.

    The following students earned the Outstanding Cambridge Scholar Awards:

    Dhruv Ashok, Benjamin Beder, Ron Dubinsky, Naomi Kern, Esther Liu, Anaya Pandit, Fiona Wang, Megan Wong

    Carmen Arnold, Kota Bercey, Anisha Bhardwaj, Claire Charvet, Owen Dreessen, Riva Gore, Christopher Hays, Aagney Iyer, Angelyiah Lim, Roza Pietrusinska, Annie Shin, Bhavik Soni, Sebastian Sosa, Ishita Suri, Christian Tarta, Matyas Teichner, Jasmine Yang, Frances Yih

    Merel Adriaanse, Deepti Anoop, Riddhi Atmakuri, Jessica Batzel, Hayden Brophy, Aoife Campbell-Smith, Aleksandra Cholewinska, Aidan Clarke, Emilio James dela Cruz, Inayah Farooqi, Alexandra Gefflaut, Jarec Goelzer, Zubin Gupta, Donovan Hershey, Towa Jones,  Avinash Joshi, Vishwa Kaniyur Neelakandan, Sonya Karnataki, Kyrylo Kulygin, Laasya Lanka, Sage Lou, Abigail Main, Shama Nathan, Nicholas Neshev, Faraz Qureshi, Adia Pinski, Alexandra Predescu, Pranathi Ramesh, Elizabeth Shirakian, Anas Slassi, Khushi Tawde, Khai Truong, Maximillian Zhulenev