Three LWSD students receive National Merit College-Sponsored Scholarships

More than 3,300 distinguished students recognized nationwide

Redmond, Wash. – The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced today that three Lake Washington School District (LWSD) students will receive National Merit College-

Sponsored Scholarships:

  • Carlos L. Alvarez, Lake Washington High School - National Merit Lawrence University Scholarship 
  • Aryo Karai, Nikola Tesla STEM High School - National Merit University of Chicago Scholarship
  • Emma E. Trueba, Eastlake High School - National Merit Texas A&M University Scholarship

Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among Finalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship. 


About Lake Washington: Lake Washington School District  is a high-performing, fast-growing public school district serving Kirkland, Redmond, and Sammamish, Washington. It is the second largest district in the state of Washington, with over 31,000 students in 56 schools.