During its July 13 School Board Meeting, Lake Washington School District Superintendent, Dr. Jon Holmen, removed “Rebels” as the Juanita High School mascot. Dr. Matt Livingston, Director of Secondary Education and Juanita High School Principal, Kelly Clapp, will now begin the process outlined in Policy 6970 to select a new mascot.

Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor, and George Floyd. We say their names not because they are the only three. They are three of many whose lives were taken and sadly, their names are now part of our history as a country that should be better because of the promise that was put forth that all people are created equal.

Lake Washington School District Community:

Over the past week we have watched events unfold across our country that reflect the anger and outrage that has once again been sparked by a senseless and horrific death.



    Forty-nine LWSD students named National Merit Semifinalists

    The most ever for Lake Washington School District 

    Redmond, Wash. – Forty-nine Lake Washington School District (LWSD) high school seniors have been named semifinalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. That is the most ever for LWSD. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the semifinalists today.  

    Sixteen thousand high school seniors nationwide qualified. About 15,000 semifinalists are expected to advance to the Finalist level. More than half will win a National Merit Scholarship. These students will be able to continue in the competition for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $31 million.  

    Students qualified for these awards by completing the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. The semifinalists include the highest scoring students in each state. The semifinalists represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors. 

    Lake Washington School District National Merit Semifinalists*

    Eastlake High School:  

    • Bobby Aiyer (Redmond) 
    • Isabel Burney (Sammamish) 
    • Neha Dalia (Sammamish) 
    • Suraj Dhulipalla (Sammsmish)
    • Matthieu Le (Sammamish) 
    • Megan Mattappally (Sammamish) 
    • Shanmugam Meyyappan (Sammamish) 
    • Victoria Raggi (Sammamish) 
    • Rohit Ramesh (Sammamish) 
    • Emma Trueba (Sammamish) 
    • Bridget Wilson (Sammamish) 
    • Jenna Yuan (Sammamish)
    • Nathan Zeng (Sammamish) 


    International Community School:  

    • Alex Chang (Sammamish) 
    • Cheryl Li (Kirkland)  
    • Annalisa Mueller-Eberstein (Kirkland) 
    • Aneesha Ramesh (Redmond) 


    Lake Washington High School:  

    • Carlos Alvarez (Kirkland) 
    • Mark Hilwa (Redmond) 


    Nikola Tesla STEM High School:  

    • Hyunjin Cho (Kirkland)  
    • Annie Denton (Kirkland) 
    • Aryo Karai (Sammamish) 
    • Isha Murali (Sammamish) 
    • Sowmya Pratipati (Redmond) 
    • Devesh Sarda (Redmond) 
    • Amrutha Srikanth (Sammamish) 
    • Anusha Srivastava (Redmond) 
    • David Stanko (Sammamish) 
    • Aditi Subramanyam (Sammamish) 
    • Rishika Veeramachaneni (Sammamish) 
    • Maxwell Wang (Sammamish) 
    • Callie Wharton (Kirkland) 


    Redmond High School:  

    • Jennifer Chou (Woodinville) 
    • Collin Dang (Redmond) 
    • Kaan Ingec (Redmond) 
    • Sathvik Kakanuru (Redmond) 
    • Tejas Kalyan (Redmond) 
    • Yuhui Li (Redmond) 
    • Ashley Luty (Redmond) 
    • Abhignya Mantha (Redmond) 
    • Sofiya Mitchell (Redmond) 
    • Maneesh Rajagopal (Woodinville) 
    • Deepti Ramani (Redmond) 
    • Arpit Ranasaria (Redmond) 
    • Sunidhi Ranganathan (Redmond) 
    • Jordan Rothkowitz (Woodinville) 
    • Mukil Shanmugam (Redmond) 
    • Ananya Srivastava (Redmond) 
    • Eileen Zhang (Redmond) 

    * Note: Photos available on request. 


    About Lake Washington: Lake Washington School District  is a high-performing public school district serving Kirkland, Redmond, and Sammamish, Washington. It is the third largest district in the state of Washington, with nearly 30,000 students in 55 schools.