Navigate Up
Sign In
Lake Washington School District
Juanita High School
10601 N.E. 132nd St., Kirkland, WA 98034 | 425 936-1600
FOR PARENTS
FOR STUDENTS
Juanita High > Athletics
Skip navigation links
Home
About UsExpand About Us
Weekly Bulletin
AcademicsExpand Academics
ActivitiesExpand Activities
AthleticsExpand Athletics
For ParentsExpand For Parents
For StudentsExpand For Students
Counseling
LibraryExpand Library
PTSA
Booster Club
Pool
Athletics
OUR ATHLETIC TEAM:
 
Athletic Director - Steve Juzeler  (425) 936-1606 sjuzeler@lwsd.org     
 
Athletic Secretary - Kris Blanch   (425) 936-1673  kblanch@lwsd.org
 
Athletic Complex Manager - Bill Goff (425) 936-1636 bgoff@lwsd.org
 
 
 

 FALL SPORTS INFORMATION

 
Fall Sports
 
Fall Sports registration begins on Monday, August 18
 
First Day of Football practice is Wednesday, August 20.  All other sports (Boys Golf, Boys Tennis, Cross Country, Volleyball, Girls Soccer and Girls Swim & Dive) start on Monday, August 25th.
 
All student-athletes must go through the eligibility process to receive clearance to participate in a sport at Juanita High School
 
Athletic and Bookkeepers Office Hours
 
Summer hours beginning August 18th - 8:00 AM to 2:00 PM Monday - Friday (Athletic office will have limited hours on Prep Days; Wednesday Aug 27 & Thursday, Aug 28 10:45AM – 11:45AM)        All offices will be closed on Monday, September 1
 
Beginning September 2nd – before or after school and during student lunches
 
Eligibility Process
 
1) Sports fee ($275) and ASB fee ($40) paid to the bookkeeper – Check or cash only accepted at the bookkeeper’s window. Credit card payments can be made online thru Parent Access. Students account must be clear of all fines.
 
*** New for the 2014-2015 School Year ***
This covers the Fall Sports Season, updates for Winter and Spring will be available in the Athletic Office at a later date
 
Volleyball, Boys Golf and Girls Soccer are cut sports at Juanita High School, there is no guarantee your student will make the team.  Payment for the participation fee will not be accepted until your student is placed on a team.  A fine of $275 will be placed on your students school account at the time of clearance.  Full payment will be due by 2:00 PM, Friday August 29 in order to continue practicing with the team.  If making the payment in full is not possible, other arrangements will need to be made with the bookkeeper prior to try-outs.  The bookkeeper accepts cash and checks.  You may pay by credit card thru Parent Access – just click on fees/fines to see the participation fee.  Fines will be cleared from the accounts of those students who do not make the team.   The ASB fee must be paid prior to clearance.
 
2) Submit receipt of payment, Sports Packet and sport specific liability form to the Athletic Office. Clearance packets are available in the Athletic Office, Main office and online.
 
3) A grade check will be completed. (Running Start, Choice Schools or Home School students need to submit a copy of their previous semester grades)
 
4) Physical must be valid for the entire season to be cleared. For the 2014 Fall Season: Football 12/16/14, Cross Country 11/8/14, Volleyball 11/15/14, Swim 11/15/14, Soccer 11/21/15, Tennis 11/8/14, Golf 11/8/14
 
5) Clearance Card will be given to the athlete if all requirements have been met. The athlete will give the clearance card to their coach on the first day of try-outs/practice to show they have been cleared to participate.
 
All forms need to be submitted together and in person to the athletic office beginning Monday, August 18th.  Incomplete paperwork will not be accepted.  Please plan ahead. Get cleared early!  Waiting until the first day of practice will result in long lines and the possibility of missing practice!
 
 
2014 Fall Try-out and Practice Information
Sport Date Time Location Notes
Cross Country Monday, August 25 4:00 - 6:30 Meet in Room 100 (Stanford) Practices will change to 3:00 - 5:30 once school starts
Football Wednesday, August 20 1:30  -  Varsity       5:30 -  C-Team ` Check www.JuanitaFootball.com                         for schedule changes
Golf (Boys) Monday, August 25 2:30-5:30 Wayne Golf Course Try-outs  August 25-26-27. Players must have their athletic eligibility card.                          Questions? Contact David Friedman at dfriedman@lwsd.org
Soccer (Girls) Monday, August 25 10:00 - 1:00 Soccer Field Try-outs 8/25-27 10:00 - 1:00                    www.ladyrebelssoccer.org 
Swim & Dive (Girls) Monday, August 25 2:45-4:00 JHS Pool Coach Pat Monson pmonson@lwsd.org
Tennis (Boys) Monday, August 25 3:00 - 5:00 Tennis Courts 3pm-5pm each day for the entire first week for all fall tennis players.      For information on Summer practices, or if you have questions, contact head coach Justin Ochsner - jochsner@lwsd.org
Volleyball Monday, August 25 4:00 - 7:00 Field House Try-outs August 25-26 (4:00PM - 7:00PM)           Practice August 27-29 (3:30PM-6:00PM)   Coach Jeff Curtis rebelsvb@live.com
 

 Sports Resources

 
 
 

 Coaches and Contact Info

 
 

FALL:             

Football                           Shaun Tarantola:  starantola@lwsd.org

Girls’ Volleyball               Jeff Curtis: rebelsvb@live.com  

Boys’/Girls’ Cross Country    Robert Eichelsdoerfer: cccoacheich@gmail.com

Boys’ Golf                       David Friedman: dfriedman@lwsd.org

Girls’ Soccer                   John Mach: jmach11@comcast.net

Girls’ Swimming             Patrick Monson: pmonson@lwsd.org

Boys’ Tennis                   Justin Ochsner: jochsner@lwsd.org

 

 

 

WINTER:       

Girls’ Basketball             Sam Lee: samwlee7512@comcast.net

Boys’ Basketball            Sloan Strohl:  jhsbasketball@live.com

Gymnastics                    Annie Smith: anniesmith96@yahoo.com

Wrestling                        Brent Christine: brentac148@gmail.com

Boys’ Swimming           Carly Parker: cparker@lwsd.org

Cheer                             Kayla Smith: smithkay@cwu.edu

 

 

 

SPRING:        

Badminton                    Shaun Tarantola: starantola@lwsd.org

Baseball                       Mark Peterson: nkboyz@hotmail.com                   

Softball                          Traci Odegard:  todegard@lwsd.org

Boys’/Girls’ Track         Neil Kells:  nkells@lwsd.org

Girls’Golf                       PaulMillerpmiller@lwsd.org  

Girls’ Tennis                 Justin Ochsner: jochsner@lwsd.org

Boys’ Soccer               Michael Duncan: cd4nysa@comcast.net